Cooper

I met Cooper when I flew into Detroit from Los Angles. Julie, my daughter-in-law picked me up at Wayne County Airport, and as we walked to her van, up popped the head of a beautiful dog. Now I didn’t think Cooper was beautiful at that moment because all I could see were the big teeth of a very large dog snarling at me and I couldn’t help but wonder if I was going to be eaten alive before we got to the house. As I stood debating whether I should chance getting in or turn around and head home, Julie walked around her side of the vehicle and yelled “Cooper shut up” as she beckoned me in. Hesitantly I opened the door and cautiously slid inside. No sooner, had I squeezed myself as close to my escape route as possible, this big fluffy dog jumped in my lap, planted a wet slobbery kiss on my face then snuggled up close for the ride home.

It didn’t matter how infrequently I visited; this big ball of luxurious brown and white fur would greet me like we were long-lost friends; and for weeks after I returned home, I’d find little wisps of Cooper’s long silky hair clinging to my clothes.

From the moment they laid eyes on each other, Julie was Cooper’s human, the center of his life, and Cooper was Julie’s best friend, her most trusted and dedicated confidant; the two were inseparable and loved each other unconditionally. Through many years Cooper faithfully comforted and fiercely protected Julie, and on November 10, 2021, Julie was there to comfort and protect Cooper as he moved on to his next adventure.

You see, when the time comes, pets also have last wishes, it’s when they need their people the most and Julie was as devoted to Cooper as he had always been to her; staying with him until his last breath, soothing, reassuring, and comforting him, the strength of her love giving Cooper the power to let go peacefully knowing he was taking her heart with him.

In the years to come long strands of silken dog hair will unexpectedly float down from heaven as a gentle reminder of the wonderful spirit that still lives on in the hearts of those who loved him. Rest in Peace Cooper, you were a constant and truly loyal friend.

press

Kristeen Irigoyen-Hernandez
Human Rights Advocate, Researcher/Chronological Archivist and member in good standing with the Constitution First Amendment Press Association (CFAPA.org)

Kristeen Irigoyen-Hernandez aka Lady2Soothe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.